World Summit on Sustainable Development (WSSD) International Eminent Persons Meeting on Interlinkages Bridging Problems and Solutions to Work Towards Sustainable Development

Tokyo, Japan 3-4 September 2001


Working Group Highlights

Working Group 1: Linkages between Chapters of Agenda 21

Working Group Chair Jan Pronk, Minister of Housing, Spatial Planning and Environment, the Netherlands
Presenter Akiko Domoto, Governor of Chiba Prefecture (len04354@nifty.com) gave a presentation on International Environmental Governance Its Impact on Social and Human Development

Bradnee Chambers, Fellow, UNU Institute of Advanced Studies (chambers@ias.unu.edu), with Presenter Gary Sampson, Chair of International Economic Relations, UNU/IAS (gary.sampson@wto.org)

Click here for Gary Sampson's background note

Frank Loy, Former US Under Secretary of State for Global Affairs (loyfrank@aol.com)

Lilia Casanova, Deputy Director, UNEP-IETC Shiga Office (lilia.casanova@unep.or.jp) and John W. Sewell, Senior Scholar, Woodrow Wilson International Center for Scholars (jwsewell@starpower.net)

Chair Jan Pronk

Hafiz Pasha, Assistant Secretary-General, Director of the UNDP Regional Bureau for Asia and the Pacific (hafiz.pasha@undp.org)

Working Group 1

Working Group 2: Linkages between MEAs  
Working Group Chair Delmar Blasco, Secretary General, Ramsar Convention on Wetlands (blasco@ramsar.org)
Presenter Felix Dodds, Executive Director, UNED-Forum (fdodds@earthsummit2002.org) and Kiliparti Ramadrishna, Deputy Director, the Woods Hole Research Center (kramakrishna@whrc.org), and Langston "Kimo" Goree, Director, Reporting Services, International Institute for Sustainable Development (kimo@iisd.org)

Presenters Mukul Sanwal, Outreach Officer, UNFCCC Secretariat (Msanwal@unfccc.int) discussed a Framework for MEA Cooperation and Felix Dodds gave a presentation on Inter-linkages Among Multilateral Environmental Agreements

Hiroko Shimizu, Project Assistant, Global Environment Information Center (GEIC), UNU (Hshimizu@geic.or.jp) and Presenter Carlene Van Toen, Project Research Assistant, GEIC/UNU (vantoen@hq.unu.edu) gave a presentation on
Presenter Ambassador Richard Elliot Benedick, Joint Global Change Research Insitute (richard.benedick@pnl.gov) discussed Environmental Decision Making and Multilateral Environmental Agreements
Lee Kimball, Independent Consultant and representing LEAD International (lkimball@igc.org) and Dr. Kiliparti Ramakrishna, Deputy Director, The Woods Hole Research Center (kramakrishna@whrc.org)
Kimo Goree, IISD (left), during the Working Group discussions
Lee Kimball, Dr. Kiliparti Ramakrishna and Hilary French, Director of the Global Governance Project, Worldwatch Institute (hfrench@worldwatch.org)
Taka Hiraishi, Senior Consultant, IGES (left)

Working Group 3: Strategies for Sustainable Development
Working Group Chair Norman Myers, Honorary Visiting Fellow, Green College, Oxford University, (myers1n@aol.com)
Presenter Yoginder Alagh, Former Minister of Power, Science and Technology and Planning of India, Sardar Patel Institute of Economic and Social Research (munsa@icenet.net or alagh@parlis.nic.in) presented a Sustainable Development Framework
Presenter Kazuo Matsushita, Acting Vice-President, Institute for Global Environmental Strategies (matsushita@iges.or.jp)discussed an Asia-Pacific Environmental Innovation Strategy Project
Professor Hisakazu Kato, Graduate School of Law, Nagoya University (hkato@nomolog.nagoya-u.ac.jp) (left) and Thangavel Palanivel, Fellow, UNU Institute of Advanced Studies (palani@ias.unu.edu)
Presenter Dr. Kim Semenovich Losev, Senior Scientist, VINITI, and Professor, Moscow University (kim@viniti.msk.su) discussed Ecological Issues and Sustainable Development Perspectives of Russia at the Beginning of the 21st Century
Working Group 3
Kazuo Matsushita, Acting Vice-President, IGES, and Dr. Xia Guang, Director, Policy Research Center, State Environmental Protection Administration (xiag@public.bta.net.cn)
Filbert Kouassi Gleglaud, Counsellor, Embassy of Cote d'Ivoire (Ticale@hotmail.com)

Related Links

Official website for the conference with background documents

United Nations University
Global Environment Information Center  
IISD coverage of Workshop on Interlinkages, Synergies and Coordination among MEAs 26-27 February 2001
IISD coverage of Interlinkages Conference 14-16 July 1999

Sustainable Developments home page ~ Linkages home page

�2001, IISD. All rights reserved.