Page principale
PDF
ASCII
Développements Durables @ Global Knowledge 97

Le savoir mondial 97
Volume 7, Numéro 4
24 Juin 1997

UN COMPTE-RENDU QUOTIDIEN DE LA CONFERENCE 'LE SAVOIR MONDIAL 97'

 

LES FAITS MARQUANTS DE LA CONFERENCE 'LE SAVOIR MONDIAL 97'
24 JUIN 1997

Plusieurs séances de travail devaient être tenues dans le courant de la journée. Les délégués se sont réunis en un petit déjeuner de travail sur le thème "Le Savoir Mondial: Un Partenariat pour les Hommes et les Femmes"; un déjeuner Plénier sur le thème "Le Savoir et la Bonne Gouvernance"; et un dîner Plénier sur le thème "Savoir Mondial et Culture Locale."

SESSIONS DE TRAVAIL

Voici ci-après le résumé de quelques sessions de travail tenues dans la journée.

'Empowering Information Tools for Grassroots Women': Les panélistes soulignèrent l'importance: de l'implication des femmes dans la forme des technologies d'information et de communication au fur et à mesure de leur évolution; de l'édification de passerelles entre les femmes et les hommes au sein des gouvernements et dans les médias; de la formation pour l'acquisition des aptitudes techniques et l'utilisation stratégique des technologies d'information et de communication; de l'utilisation de canaux multiples pour la diffusion de l'information; des contraintes d'emploi du temps pour les femmes et les besoins d'efficacité dans les technologies d'information et de communication; et la nécessité de trouver des moyens pour se connecter avec les utilisateurs qui ont accès à la messagerie électronique seulement. Les participants appelèrent à la création de nouveaux engins de recherche axés sur les besoins des femmes et soulignèrent que la communication sur Internet de doit pas supplanter l'interaction directe entre les êtres humains.

'Use of Communication Technology by Grassroots Women: Best Practices': Les panélistes présentèrent des initiatives qui ont permis: de mettre à la disposition des femmes les informations concernant le marché, les prix et l'emploi; de fournir à des personnes marginalisées une formation pour la maîtrise de la technologie et de l'information; d'enseigner l'informatique; d'explorer les effets économiques et sociaux des technologies d'information et de communication sur le quotidien des femmes; et d'examiner la manière dont le commerce peut ouvrir de nouvelles opportunités aux femmes. La discussion mit en exergue: la primauté des problèmes économiques et des besoins d'information; la demande en matière d'acquisition de nouvelles aptitudes liées au développement des technologies d'information et de communication; les effets différentiels des technologies d'information et de communication sur les différents groupes de femmes; et la documentation du savoir des femmes indigènes.

'Broadcast Radio for Development': Cette session entendit des présentations sur: la radio et l'éducation à distance; les stations portables de diffusion et les radios basiques; les activités d'un réseau d'ONG dans des pays en développement qui fournit des émissions radio consacrées à l'agriculture en utilisant le savoir local; une expérience de radio interactive en Inde; et les émission éducationnelles diffusées par la BBC. Il fut suggéré que la radio est supérieure aux autres technologies d'information et de communication pour les raisons suivantes: elle reste le moyen le plus efficace de communication de masse; elle peut toucher les candidats à l'alphabétisation; et elle peut être fournie à des coûts raisonnables. On souligna, par ailleurs, que la technologie doit être produite dans les pays en développement plutôt que simplement importée, et que les mesures imposées par les gouvernements peuvent entraver la liberté de presse et la création de radios communautaires.

'Using Information Technology to Improve Natural Resource Management': Les panélistes décrivirent certaines initiatives de l'USAID, utilisant des outils technologiques pour l'évaluation et l'échange d'information sur les ressources naturelles dans le cadre de développement durable, et accordant une attention particulière à l'information remontante concernant le développement des partenariats nécessaires à l'application de ces outils. Les participants exprimèrent un intérêt particulier pour les modules de formation utilisables partout dans le monde, et discutèrent des transferts technologiques, de l'apprentissage à distance et de la télédétection.

'New Approaches to Rural Energy and Sustainable Development': Les participants explorèrent les approches d'amélioration de l'accès à l'énergie au profit des populations dépendantes des combustibles traditionnels et dotées de peu de moyens d'accès aux combustibles modernes. La discussion tourna autour: des coûts réels des combustibles de biomasse compte tenu du temps que nécessite la collecte du bois de chauffe; de l'importance du contrôle local sur les ressources biocombustibles et de l'amélioration de l'efficience énergétique; de la nécessité de passer aux combustibles modernes; de la sous-estimation des ressources éoliennes disponibles et des politiques négatives de taxation sur l'importation des technologies alternatives; et du financement à l'échelle micro de l'énergie dans les zones rurales. Parmi les exemples cités: la gestion des forêts à l'échelon local au Niger; un petit projet hydraulique au Népal; l'énergie éolienne en Chine, en Russie et au Brésil; et les systèmes photovoltaïques au Kenya. Parmi les challenges identifiés: les inégalités dans l'accès à l'énergie; et les difficultés du financement de l'accès à l'énergie.

'Role of the State: Policy and Regulatory Frameworks for the Information Economy': Cette session porta sur: la libéralisation des télécommunications et les besoins en matière d'investissement; le rôle résiduel de l'Etat, y compris l'accès universel et le rôle des organismes internationaux; et les domaines (l'éducation, la médecine, l'administration) et les canaux (l'Internet, le réseau téléphonique, le logiciel) de l'économie de l'information. Les participants explorèrent les aspects liés au renforcement des capacités, à l'importance des cadre juridiques et au contrôle du contenu.

'The Importance of Intellectual Property Rights': Les panélistes: soulignèrent la nécessité de protéger les droits de propriété intellectuelle (DPI) liés à l'industrie dans l'échange du savoir et de l'information pour le développement éducationnel et scientifique; décrivirent le travail nécessaire dans l'aide aux pays en développement pour l'élaboration de leur propre propriété intellectuelle et l'utilisation de l'information "gratuite" à cette fin; mirent en relief les implications du coût des DPI dans les pays en développement; appelèrent à la transparence des entreprises; et suggérèrent que l'industrie investisse dans l'infrastructure juridique nécessaire à la mise en application des DPI. Les participants soulignèrent, par ailleurs, les implications des brevets dans le domaine de la biotechnologie, et des coûts élevés de la mise en application des DPI.

'Learning Organizations and Knowledge Management': Les participants explorèrent la manière dont les organismes des secteurs privé et public peuvent créer des cadres pour l'éducation continue et le partage des ressources du savoir. Les discussions inclurent: la gestion par la Banque Mondiale de ses ressources liées au savoir; la dimension sociale de l'éducation et la gestion sociale du savoir; l'augmentation du capital intellectuel pour le soutien de l'avantage concurrentiel; la connexion des ONG pour des échanges de savoir et d'expériences; et les réseaux créés par les femmes Africaines.

'Knowledge for Development: Learning and Using Policy Lessons': Dans cette session, les participants discutèrent des moyens à travers lesquels les conseils en matière de politique sont fournis, rendus crédibles, internationalisés, et mis en oeuvre. Ils examinèrent, par ailleurs, les rôles des pourvoyeurs de politiques, des intermédiaires et des utilisateurs, et notèrent les problèmes liés à la transmission, réception et crédibilité des conseils politiques.

'Designing Partnerships for Learning': Cette session se pencha sur deux partenariats d'enseignement et d'apprentissage: l'Institut Coréen de Développement et l'Institut Conjoint de Vienne, une institution régionale au service des pays en transition économiques. Les participants discutèrent: des avantages de la formation basée sur le partenariat par rapport aux modèles traditionnels de formation; de la préoccupation liée au fait que les deux modèles mettent l'accent sur le développement économique au détriment du progrès culturel et social; et de la manière dont ces entreprises pourraient être reproduites ailleurs.

'Scientific Knowledge: Making the Most Out of the Best': Les participants entendirent des exposés sur: l'information génétique; l'industrie; l'accès au savoir scientifique et la diffusion de ce savoir; et les politiques d'encouragement à la science et à la technologie dans les pays en développement. Il fut noté que les aptitudes de recherches ne peuvent pas être créées immédiatement et qu'elles ne sont pas toujours transférables. Certains participants suggérèrent que les praticiens de la science et de la technologie n'ont pas tenu compte du savoir des cultures anciennes et que la possession du savoir n'est pas l'apanage des sociétés riches. Les pays en développement ont peu d'accès au savoir disponible, et il est plus facile de se servir d'une radio que d'un ordinateur. Les participants soulignèrent les possibilités offertes par les universités virtuelles et l'importance de l'UNESCO et des secteurs privés dans le processus du développement.

'Role of Foundations in Science and Technology for Development': Les participants discutèrent de l'expérience des fondations dans le domaine de la coopération internationale et des programmes de mobilisation des communautés scientifiques, technologiques et politiques pour se focaliser sur les problèmes de développement. On donna des présentations sur des expériences de fondations Françaises, Britanniques et Chiliennes et de la Fondation Scientifique Internationale et des Centres Universitaires de l'Internet en Russie. Il fut noté que les fondations peuvent être plus flexibles que les gouvernements et les organismes internationaux et qu'il devrait y avoir plus de coopération entre elles.

'Putting Scientific Knowledge to Use in Participatory Formulation of Development Policies': Les participants discutèrent de l'utilisation des outils informatiques pour l'élaboration des politiques de développement durable. L'une des présentations porta sur l'évaluation de la politique développementale par simulation informatique des futures politiques de gestion en matière de population, d'énergie, d'eau et d'agriculture dans les pays du bassin du Nil. La nécessité de jeter des ponts entre les cultures scientifique et politique fut soulignée. Les défis futurs furent identifiés: la mondialisation; l'envergure et le rythme des changements mondiaux; et la nécessité d'utiliser des perspectives de long terme.

'The Informed Citizen: Setting the Agenda': Les participants explorèrent l'idée que la révolution de l'information n'implique pas seulement une amélioration au niveau de la diffusion mais qu'elle transformera de manière substantielle les structures dans lesquelles les problèmes publics sont traités. La citoyenneté éclairée exige non seulement la fourniture de l'information aux citoyens mais aussi la réception de leur information et les échanges d'information entre citoyens. La discussion des études de cas porta sur: les effets sociaux de la révolution de l'information; l'interaction entre l'Internet et les autres technologies de communication; des expériences réussies en matière d'accès à la haute technologie; le rôle représentatifs des associations de citoyens; et la réluctance des politiciens à renoncer à leur pouvoir de contrôle au fur et à mesure de l'expansion des technologies d'information et de communication.

'Electronic Media: Reflecting Diversity': Les participants entendirent des exposés sur: WETV, une station satellite qui sert de plate-forme aux problèmes internationaux; le Canadian Heritage Information Network et son travail sur les expositions "virtuelles"; le musée virtuel du Canadian Museum of Civilization sur la chaîne France Nouvelle; et l'idée de rapatriement culturel à travers les moyens électroniques. Quelques participants soulignèrent qu'il s'agissait là d'un moment historique sans précédent où toutes les cultures sont en contact et que la diversité culturelle était aussi importante que la diversité biologique. On recommanda l'examen des voies permettant aux nouvelles technologies de créer l'art et de nouvelles formes d'expression.

'Knowledge for Development: A Consultation': La Banque Mondiale souhaita avoir un feedback sur le projet de son Rapport sur le Développement Mondial de 1998, focalisé sur le thème l'Information et le Savoir au service du Développement. Le projet décrit l'émergence d'un nouvel environnement d'information économique et examine sa signification pour les pays en développement. Les participants suggérèrent: que l'éducation soit soulignée davantage; que les politiques en matière d'information soit revue en profondeur; et que les défaillances de marché et le rôle gouvernemental soient examinés de plus près.

'No Real Change Without Women: Networking for Development': Les participants apportèrent des exemples illustrant: les stratégies d'accès communautaire; un partenariat de femmes dans les domaines académique, commercial, et politique, qui ont formulé la "déclaration des femmes" à "l'APEC"; et un atelier organisé en marge du Sommet Alimentaire Mondial, où les femmes avaient établi pour la sécurité une stratégie plus axée sur l'être humain. Les participants soulignèrent la nécessité de: créer des modèles de partenariats pour les défavorisés; utiliser la technologie pour conditionner, transmettre et partager le précieux savoir dont disposent les femmes; se focaliser un peu plus sur l'être humain et un peu moins sur la technologie; utiliser l'information pour aider ceux qui sont touchés par les conséquences de l'ère de l'information; utiliser l'éducation à distance pour accroître l'éducation des filles; et remettre en question l'hypothèse selon laquelle l'accès au savoir mettra fin à la pauvreté. On rappela aux participants que les femmes utilisent de nombreuses stratégies pour renforcer leur développement sans l'Internet.

SESSIONS PLENIERES

'LE SAVOIR MONDIAL': UN PARTENARIAT POUR LES FEMMES ET LES HOMMES

La Commission Indépendante sur les Femmes et le Savoir Mondial organisa un petit déjeuner en l'honneur des contributions apportées par les femmes aux technologies d'information et de communication et en faveur de la cause du renforcement des partenariats entre les femmes et les hommes à tous les niveaux du développement.

Les intervenants étaient: Shirley MALCOM, Directrice de l'Education Program de l'American Association for the Advancement of Science; James WOLFENSOHN, Président de la Banque Mondiale; Kathryn WHITE, Présidente de la Canadian Committee for UNIFEM; et Huguette LABELLE, Présidente de l'ACDI.

LE SAVOIR AU SERVICE DE LA BONNE GOUVERNANCE

Katherine HAGEN, Directeur Général Adjoint de l'Organization International de Travail (OIT), déclara que le développement et la justice sociale requièrent la bonne gouvernance, laquelle peut être soutenue par l'élargissement de l'accès au savoir. Elle mit en relief le rôle de l'OIT dans la facilitation de la diffusion de l'information sur les droits de l'homme à travers les technologies d'information et de communication. Elle nota l'avènement de régimes démocratiques dûs à la citoyenneté éclairée. Elle appela à la réduction de l'écart entre les pauvres et les riches en matière d'information et à l'accès universel aux technologies d'information et de communication.

Pepi PATRON, Professeur de Philosophie à l'Université Catholique du Pérou, parla des rapports entre le savoir, les femmes et la bonne gouvernance. Elle déclara que les femmes sont en train de changer la conception traditionnelle du savoir même si elles ne sont pas en contact avec les réseaux officiels d'information. Elle suggéra que l'Internet et l'informatique peuvent constituer un espace public pour les voix des femmes mais mit en garde que le nombre de femmes ayant accès à cette technologie restait limité. Elle nota aussi que les femmes doivent apprendre à s'adresser à tous les segments de la société.

Lloyd AXWORTHY, Ministre Canadien des Affaires Etrangères, parla de la nécessité de mettre la technologie de l'information au service de l'être humain. Il déclara qu'un jour viendra où "la souris sera plus puissante que l'épée." Le démocratisation est cruciale et ne nécessite pas seulement de simples élections, mais la fortification de la société civile et l'habilitation des citoyens. L'information peut aider à ce partage du pouvoir, devenant ainsi "le Colt 45 des peuples." Il parla aussi de la nécessité d'être conscient des aspects sombres de la révolution de l'information, tels que la pornographie, le monopole, ou le contrôle élitiste de l'information et la propagande haineuse. Pour éviter ce genre de problème, il est un besoin urgent de créer des cadres politiques pour orienter la technologie et équilibrer les questions liées à la vie privée, à la liberté d'expression et aux droits de l'homme. Le Canada travaille à la promotion d'une stratégie internationale en matière d'information, capable de garantir l'égalité de l'accès et d'adapter la technologie aux besoins humains.

SAVOIR MONDIAL ET CULTURE LOCALE

Les délégués assistèrent à un dîner Plénier sur le thème 'Savoir Mondial et Culture Locale' et entendirent les déclarations présentées par Huguette LABELLE, Présidente de l'ACDI, Federico MAYOR, Directeur Général de l'UNESCO, et Jennifer MAKUNIKE-SIBANDA de la Zimbabwe Broadcasting Corporation.

A SUIVRE AUJOURD'HUI

SESSIONS DE TRAVAIL: Les sessions de travail auront lieu de 9h00 à 10h30 et de 11h00 à 12h30 dans le Centre Sheraton, et aux Hôtels Hilton et Colony.

PLENIERE: Deux séances Plénières auront lieu respectivement sur Les Futurs Challenges, de 13h30 à 14h30, et sur les Partenaires de l'Avenir, de 15h00 à 16h00. La déclaration principale sera faite de 14h30 à 15h00, et la fin des travaux de la conférence commencera à 16h00. Toutes les Plénières auront lieu dans la Grand Ballroom du Centre Sheraton.

Developpements Durables est une publication de l'Institut International du Developpement Durable (IIDD) <info@iisd.ca>, responsable du Bulletin des Negociations de la Terre (c). Ce numero a ete redige et edite par Jonathan Krueger <J.P.Krueger@lse.ac.uk>, Kira Schmidt <kiras@iisd.org>, Silke Speier <SilkSpeier@aol.com> et Greg Terrill <greg.terrill@nuffield.oxford.ac.uk>. Genie technique de Rod Araneda <raraneda@iisd.ca>. Directeur de la publication, Langston James "Kimo" Goree VI <kimo@iisd.org>. Notre couverture de cette reunion est financee par la Banque Mondiale. Les auteurs peuvent etre contactes a leurs adresses electroniques et par tel. au: +1-212-644-0204 ou fax: +1-212-644-0206. L'IIDD peut etre contacte au 161 Portage Avenue East, 6th Floor, Winnipeg, Manitoba R3B 0Y4, Canada; tel.: +1-204-958-7700; fax: +1-204-958-7710. Les opinions exprimees dans Developpements Durables appartiennent a leurs auteurs et ne refletent pas necessairement les vues de l'IIDD et de nos autres bailleurs de fonds. Des extraits de Developpements Durables peuvent etre utilises dans d'autres publications moyennant une citation appropriee. Les versions electroniques de Developpements Durables sont transmises aux listes de distribution e-mail(format ASCII et PDF) et sont accessibles sur le serveur WWW Linkages au <http://www.iisd.ca/linkages/>. Pour plus d'informations sur Developpements Durables, y compris pour vos demandes de services de couverture, contactez le Directeur de la Publication a: <kimo@iisd.org>.

return to main
PDF format
ASCII format
Sustainable Developments @ Global Knowledge 97

Global Knowledge 97
Volume 7, Number 4
June 25, 1997

A Daily Report of the Global Knowledge 97 Conference

 

HIGHLIGHTS FROM GLOBAL KNOWLEDGE 97
24 JUNE 1997

Many working sessions were held throughout the day. Delegates convened in a breakfast meeting on Global Knowledge: A Partnership for Women and Men, a Plenary lunch on Knowledge for Good Governance, and a Plenary dinner on Global Knowledge and Local Culture.

WORKING SESSIONS

Following are summaries from some of the working sessions held throughout the day.

Empowering Information Tools for Grassroots Women: Panelists highlighted the importance of: women's involvement in shaping ICT as it evolves; building bridges between women and men in government and media; training in technical skills and strategic use of ICT; using multiple channels for disseminating information; women's time constraints and the need for efficiency in ICTs; and finding ways to connect with e-mail-only users. Participants called for new search engines catered to women's needs and stressed that Internet communication not eclipse human interaction.

Use of Communication Technology by Grassroots Women: Best Practices: Panelists outlined initiatives that: make market, price and labor information available to women; provide training for marginalized people to master technology and information; teach computer literacy; explore social and economic impacts of ICT on women's lives; and examine how trade can expand opportunities for women. Discussion highlighted: the primacy of economic problems and information needs; demand for new skills from ICT technology development; differential impacts of ICT on different types of women; and documentation of women's indigenous knowledge.

Broadcast Radio for Development: This session heard presentations on: radio and distance education; portable broadcasting stations and low-tech radios; a network of NGOs that provides radio scripts on agricultural issues based on grassroots knowledge in developing countries; interactive radio in India; and educational broadcasting by the BBC. It was suggested that radio is superior to ICT because: it remains the best means of mass communication; it can reach the illiterate; and it can be provided at reasonable cost. However, it was emphasized that technologies should be produced in developing countries rather than imported and that government regulations can hinder free media and creation of community broadcasters.

Using Information Technology to Improve Natural Resource Management: Panelists described USAID's initiatives using information technology tools for assessing and sharing natural resource information for sustainable development, and sought feedback and advice on developing partnerships to apply these tools. Participants expressed particular interest in training modules for international waters and discussed technology transfer, distance learning and remote sensing.

New Approaches to Rural Energy and Sustainable Development: Participants explored approaches to improving access to energy for people dependent on traditional fuels and with limited access to modern fuels. Discussion revolved around: the real costs of bio-mass fuel due to time spent on fuel-wood collection; the importance of local control over bio-fuel resources and increased energy efficiency; the need to move to modern fuels; the underestimation of available wind resources and adverse policies on import duties on alternative technologies; and micro-finance for energy in rural areas. Examples included: local forest management in Niger; a micro-hydro project in Nepal; wind power in China, Russia and Brazil; and photo voltaic systems in Kenya. Challenges identified included: inequalities in access to energy; and difficulties in financing energy access.

Role of the State: Policy and Regulatory Frameworks for the Information Economy: This session centered on: telecommunications liberalization and investment needs; the residual role of the state, including universal access and the role of international organizations; and both the domains (education, medicine, government) and channels (Internet, telephony, software) of the information economy. Participants explored questions relating to capacity-building, the importance of legal frameworks and the regulation of content.

The Importance of Intellectual Property Rights: Panelists: stressed the need to protect industry's intellectual property rights (IPR) while sharing knowledge and information for education and scientific development; described work to assist developing countries in developing their own intellectual property and in utilizing "free" information to this end; emphasized cost implications of IPR for developing countries; called for transparency from corporations; and suggested industry invest in legal infrastructure for enforcement of IPR. Participants highlighted the implications of biotechnology patenting and the high costs of enforcing IPR.

Learning Organizations and Knowledge Management: Participants explored how private and public sector organizations create contexts for continuous learning and build shared knowledge resources. Discussions included: the World Bank's management of its knowledge resources; the social dimension of learning and the social management of knowledge; augmenting intellectual capital to sustain competitive advantage; connecting NGOs to exchange knowledge and experience; and networks created by African women.

Knowledge for Development: Learning and Using Policy Lessons: In this session, participants discussed the means by which policy advice is given, made credible, internalized and implemented. They also considered the roles of policy providers, intermediaries and users, and noted problems with the transmission, reception and credibility of policy advice.

Designing Partnerships for Learning: This session considered two partnerships for teaching and learning: the Korean Development Institute and the Joint Vienna Institute, a regional institution serving economies in transition. Participants discussed: advantages of partnership-based training in comparison with more traditional training models; the concern that both models emphasized economic development to the exclusion of social and cultural progress; and how to establish similar ventures elsewhere.

Scientific Knowledge: Making the Most Out of the Best: Participants heard presentations on: genetic information; industry; access to and dissemination of scientific knowledge; and policies to foster science and technology in developing countries. It was noted that research skills are not immediately created nor always transferable. Others suggested that science and technology practitioners have not accounted for the knowledge of ancient cultures and that the possession of knowledge is not the prerogative of rich societies. Developing countries have little access to existing knowledge and, while there may be wind-up radio, there is no wind-up computer. Participants highlighted the potential of virtual universities and the importance of UNESCO and the private sector in the development process.

Role of Foundations in Science and Technology for Development: Participants discussed foundations' experience with international cooperation and schemes for mobilizing the scientific, technological and policy communities to focus on development problems. Presentations were made on the experiences of French, British and Chilean foundations and on the International Science Foundation and University Internet Centers in Russia. It was noted that foundations can be more flexible than governments or international organizations and thus there should be scope for cooperation between them.

Putting Scientific Knowledge to Use in Participatory Formulation of Development Policies: Participants discussed the use of computer-based tools for sustainable policy development. There was a presentation on development policy assessment using a live computer simulation of future population, energy, water and agriculture management policies in Nile River basin countries. The need to build bridges between the science and policy cultures was stressed. Challenges for the future were identified: globalization; the magnitude and rate of global change; and the need to employ long-term perspectives.

The Informed Citizen: Setting the Agenda: Participants explored the notion that the information revolution will not only enhance the supply of information but will substantially alter the structures in which public problems are addressed. Informed citizenship entails not only providing information to citizens, but also receiving information from and exchanging information between citizens. Discussions of case studies considered: social impacts of the information revolution; the interaction between the Internet and other communication technologies; spontaneous successes involving access to high technology; the representative role of citizen-groups; and the reluctance of politicians to cede control as ICT use spreads.

Electronic Media: Reflecting Diversity: Participants heard presentations on: WETV, a satellite broadcaster that acts as a platform for global issues; the Canadian Heritage Information Network and their work with "virtual" exhibits; the Canadian Museum of Civilization's virtual museum on New France; and the idea of cultural repatriation through electronic means. Some participants stressed that this is an unprecedented moment in history when all cultures are in contact and that cultural diversity was as important as biodiversity. It was recommended that ways in which new technologies can create art and new forms of expression be considered.

Knowledge for Development: A Consultation: The World Bank sought feedback on a draft outline of its 1998 World Development Report, which focuses on Information and Knowledge for Development. The draft outlines the emerging economic information environment and considers its significance for developing countries. Participants suggested that: education be more strongly emphasized; the politics of information be considered more fully; and market failures and government roles be examined in greater detail.

No Real Change Without Women: Networking for Development: Participants provided examples of: community access strategies; a partnership of women in academia, business and policy who formulated a women's declaration at APEC; and a workshop parallel to the World Food Summit where women strategized to develop a more people-centered notion of security. Participants stressed the need to: create models for partnerships for the underpriveleged; use technology to package, convey and share the valuable knowledge that women possess; focus more on people and less on technology; use information to assist those disempowered by the consequences of the information age; use distance learning to increase girls' education; and question the underlying assumption that access to knowledge will eliminate poverty. Participants were reminded that women are employing numerous strategies to foster their development without the Internet.

PLENARY SESSIONS

GLOBAL KNOWLEDGE: A PARTNERSHIP FOR WOMEN AND MEN

The Independent Committee on Women and Global Knowledge hosted a breakfast to honor women's contributions to ICTs and to advocate strengthening partnerships between women and men at all levels of development. Speaking at the breakfast were: Shirley Malcom, Director, Education Program, American Association for the Advancement of Science; James Wolfensohn, President, World Bank; Kathryn White, President, Canadian Committee for UNIFEM; and Huguette Labelle, President, CIDA.

KNOWLEDGE FOR GOOD GOVERNANCE

Katherine Hagen, Deputy Director General, International Labor Organization (ILO), stated that social justice and development require good governance, which can be supported by widespread access to knowledge. She highlighted ILO's role in facilitating the dissemination of human rights information via ICT. She noted the rise of democratic regimes due to the creation of informed citizens. She called for reducing the gap between the information poor and rich and for universal access to ICT.

Pepi Patron, Professor of Philosophy, Catholic University of Peru, discussed the relationships between knowledge, women and good governance. She said women are changing the traditional conception of knowledge, even when they are not in contact with formal information networks. She suggested that the Internet and computers can provide a public space for women's voices but cautioned that the number of women with access to this technology is limited. She also noted that women must learn to speak with all segments of society.

Lloyd Axworthy, Canadian Minister of Foreign Affairs, spoke of the need for information technology to work for people. He anticipated that the day is coming when "the mouse will be mightier than the sword." Democratization is crucial and requires not simply elections, but the fortification of civil society and the empowerment of citizens. Information can aid this powersharing, becoming "the Colt 45 for the grassroots." He spoke also of the need to beware of the dark sides of the information revolution, such as pornography, monopoly or elite control of information and hate propaganda. To avoid such problems, there is an urgent need to create policy frameworks to shape technology and balance privacy issues, freedom of speech and human rights. Canada is working to promote an international information strategy which would guarantee equality of access and the shaping of technology to human needs.

GLOBAL KNOWLEDGE AND LOCAL CULTURE

Delegates attended a dinner Plenary on Global Knowledge and Local Culture and heard statements from Huguette Labelle, CIDA President, Federico Mayor, UNESCO Director General, and Jennifer Makunike-Sibanda, Zimbabwe Broadcasting Corporation.

THINGS TO LOOK FOR TODAY

WORKING SESSIONS: Working sessions will meet from 9:00-10:30 a.m. and 11:00 a.m.-12:30 p.m. in the Sheraton Centre, Hilton and Colony Hotels.

PLENARY: There will two Plenary sessions, on The Challenges Ahead, from 1:30-2:30 p.m., and on Partners for the Future, from 3:00-4:00 p.m. The keynote address will be delivered from 2:30-3:00 p.m., and the conference conclusion will begin 4:00 p.m. All Plenaries will take place in the Sheraton Centre Grand Ballroom.

Sustainable Developments is a publication of the International Institute for Sustainable Development (IISD) <info@iisd.ca>, publishers of the Earth Negotiations Bulletin (c). This issue is written and edited by Jonathan Krueger <J.P.Krueger@lse.ac.uk>, Kira Schmidt <kiras@iisd.org>, Silke Speier <SilkSpeier@aol.com> and Greg Terrill <greg.terrill@nuffield.oxford.ac.uk>. Digital Wizardry by Rod Araneda <raraneda@iisd.ca>. The Managing Editor of Sustainable Developments is Langston James "Kimo" Goree VI <kimo@iisd.org>. Funding for coverage of this meeting has been provided by The World Bank. The authors can be contacted at their electronic mail addresses and at tel: +1-212-644-0204 and by fax: +1-212-644-0206. IISD can be contacted at 161 Portage Avenue East, 6th Floor, Winnipeg, Manitoba R3B 0Y4, Canada; tel: +1-204-958-7700; fax: +1-204-958-7710. The opinions expressed in the Sustainable Developments are those of the authors and do not necessarily reflect the views of IISD and other funders. Excerpts from Sustainable Developments may be used in other publications with appropriate academic citation. Electronic versions of Sustainable Developments are sent to e-mail distribution lists (ASCII and PDF format) and can be found on the Linkages WWW-server at <http://www.iisd.ca/linkages/>. For further information on Sustainable Developments, including requests to provide reporting services, contact the Managing Editor at <kimo@iisd.org>.