Page principale
PDF
ASCII
Développements Durables @ Global Knowledge 97

Le savoir mondial 97
Volume 7, Numéro 3
24 Juin 1997

UN COMPTE-RENDU QUOTIDIEN DE LA CONFERENCE 'LE SAVOIR MONDIAL 97'

 

LES FAITS MARQUANTS DE LA CONFERENCE 'LE SAVOIR MONDIAL 97'
23 JUIN 1997

Les délégués participant à 'GK97' devaient se réunir en deux sessions plénières, ce matin, consacrées respectivement à l'ordre du jour de la conférence et à l'Investissement dans le Savoir, et devaient assister à un dîner plénier sur le thème de l'Investissement dans l'Infrastructure du Savoir. Les délégués ont tenu, par ailleurs, des séances de travail durant toute l'après-midi.

SESSIONS PLENIERES

L'ORDRE DU JOUR DE LA CONFERENCE 'LE SAVOIR MONDIAL 97'

Diane MARLEAU, Ministre Canadien de la Coopération Internationale et Ministre chargé de la Francophonie, souligna l'importance de l'accès équitable de tous et celle d'établir des partenariats productifs. Elle déclara que l'information doit être pratique et adaptée aux besoins locaux. L'accès équitable est fondé sur l'acquisition de l'alphabétisme fonctionnel, incluant l'aptitude à calculer et à résoudre les problèmes. Elle souligna aussi l'importance de l'éducation des filles, particulièrement en Afrique, et affirma que les partenariats peuvent faciliter l'accès équitable. Elle déclara que les gouvernements doivent garantir l'accès de tous les citoyens à l'information et oeuvrer à l'instauration d'un environnement encourageant pour l'investissement privé dans le domaine.

James D. WOLFENSOHN, Président de la Banque Mondiale, souligna pour sa part le besoin de combler le fossé entre les riches et les pauvres. Le défi majeur consiste à accroître pour les gens les possibilités d'accéder aux nouvelles technologies, et la réussite doit être mesurée en termes d'impact sur la pauvreté et le développement. Il fit remarquer que les gouvernements et les institutions doivent se laisser guider par les désirs de leurs citoyens. Il rappela l'observation faite par ANNAN que c'est l'ignorance, et non pas le savoir, qui pose des contraintes à la société. Il encouragea les participants à oeuvrer pour un monde meilleur.

José María FIGUERES, Président du Costa Rica, souligna que l'objectif de cette conférence consiste à discuter du Savoir à l'ère de l'information dans le cadre de l'amélioration du bien-être des peuples. Il donna un aperçu sur l'expérience du Costa Rica en matière d'investissement dans le domaine de la santé, du développement de l'infrastructure, de l'éducation, des communications et de l'édification des institutions. Il affirma que de tous ces domaines, celui de l'éducation reste le plus important. Il évoqua plusieurs indicateurs, y compris ceux ayant trait à: l'espérance de vie; l'amélioration des indicateurs environnementaux; et une plus grande liberté économique. Il suggéra que le développement durable permet de prendre des décisions englobant tous les domaines d'action de la vie sociale. Il appela à davantage d'efforts pour ouvrir l'accès aux techniques d'information et de communication en vue de réaliser l'égalité pour tous.

Yoweri K. MUSEVENI, Président de l'Ouganda, déclara que dans le passé, l'homme a été oppressé par la nature et par ses semblables, mais que la science et la technologie ont permis à l'humanité de passer cette situation. Il ajouta que seule le généralisation du savoir pourra créer un équilibre où personne n'utiliserait le savoir au détriment d'autrui. Il décrivit les obstacles entravant l'accès au savoir en Ouganda: l'analphabétisme; les programmes archaïques; les difficultés de transmission du savoir aux villageois; et la léthargie du savoir ancien. Il mit en exergue les efforts fournis pour aplanir ces obstacles: la réduction du coût de l'éducation et l'expansion de l'enseignement secondaire et universitaire; la réforme des programmes et leur adaptation au marché de l'emploi; l'expansion du réseau des vulgarisateurs; et les efforts de mise en valeur du savoir traditionnel. Il ajouta qu'un ajustement du système mondial doit accompagner la mondialisation du savoir et de la démocratie et que tout le monde doit pouvoir apporter une contribution dans cet élan.

INVESTISSEMENT DANS LE SAVOIR

Maurice STRONG, Conseiller Spécial auprès du Secrétaire Général de l'ONU, présida la Plénière. Il souligna que bien que 'GK97' soit focalisée sur la question du savoir, celle des évolutions civilisationnelles induites par la révolution du savoir est également au centre des débats.

Joy MALE, Administratrice de la Mengo Senior School de Kampala, en Ouganda, parla de l'initiative pionnière "school-to-school" (SSI) qui se déroule actuellement en Ouganda. La 'SSI,' projet pilote, conduit sur une année, lancé en 1996, a permis d'équiper trois écoles en ordinateurs, imprimantes et, pour la première fois en Ouganda, de l'accès à l'Internet. La 'SSI' est très populaire dans les écoles et au sein des communautés locales où elle est utilisée pour l'établissement d'un réseau, les échanges d'informations sur les bonnes pratiques, et l'amélioration des aptitudes. L'oratrice évoqua les défis futurs: s'assurer de la poursuite du programme après la phase pilote, et l'expansion du programme à d'autres écoles.

Joseph E. STIGLITZ, Premier Vice-Président et Economiste en Chef de la Banque Mondiale, souligna que le savoir est la force qui sous-tend le développement économique. Il donna la liste des préalables à l'évolution en matière de télécommunication: l'investissement continu dans le capital humain; l'instauration d'un environnement favorable à l'investissement dans les nouvelles technologies; la mise en place de politiques garantissant une large répartition du produit de la croissance économique; la création de l'infrastructure du savoir; et le développement de la démocratie. Il mit l'accent sur l'importance: de la 'concurrence efficace capable d'induire une baisse des prix et de permettre la participation des pauvres; un cadre réglementaire pour la protection des consommateurs; et la stabilité politique et réglementaire.

John MANLEY, Ministre Canadien de l'Industrie, fit observer que les avancées réalisées dans les technologies de l'information ont transformé les économies industrielles en économies basées sur le savoir. Il souligna que le fait d'être connecté offrait de nouvelles opportunités et serait à même de réduire l'écart entre les pays industrialisés et les pays en développement. Les pays en développement pourraient "sauter" par dessus les vieilles technologies et éviter les embûches d'ordre politique et régulatoire. Il ajouta que nous ne devons pas cependant perdre de vue les valeurs humaines. Il décrivit ensuite plusieurs programmes que le Canada compte lancer à l'intérieur du pays et à l'étranger pour l'amélioration de l'accès aux outils et aptitudes liés aux technologies de l'information.

Fawzi AL-SULTAN, Président du Fonds International pour le Développement Agricole (FIDA), déclara pour sa part que le savoir est devenu une force pour l'allégement de la pauvreté. Les pauvres ont besoin d'accéder à l'expérience des communautés semblables, leur savoir doit être aiguisé par le contact avec d'autres expériences pour leur permettre de mieux reconnaître les éléments les plus appropriés à leurs besoins. Il affirma que l'information constituait la pierre angulaire du développement durable et que les technologies modernes doivent être mises à la disposition des pauvres. Il donna un aperçu sur les efforts fournis par le FIDA dans ce domaine. Il souligna aussi que l'investissement dans le savoir représente un engagement envers l'être humain et envers un meilleur avenir pour tous.

Les délégués devaient également assister à un dîner Plénier, parrainé par les partenaires du secteur privé associé à 'GK97,' durant lequel des déclarations furent présentées par: Michael DELL, Fondateur et Chairman de la Dell Computer Corporation; Claude FORGET, Conseiller Spécial auprès du Président du Conseil d'Administration et Directeur Général de Teleglobe, Inc.; et Jean MONTY, Vice-Président et Directeur Général de Nortel. (Note de l'Editeur: ces déclarations sont disponibles en RealAudio à http://www.iisd.ca/linkages/sd/gk97/webcast.html.)

SESSIONS DE TRAVAIL

Une série de séances de travail devait avoir lieu dans l'après-midi. Voici ci-après le résumé d'un certain nombre d'entre elles.

Le Partenariat pour le Partage du Savoir et la Connexion à l'Internet: les Défis Particuliers à l'Afrique: Dans cette séance en deux volets, il fut noté que l'Afrique était le dernier continent à être connecté à l'Internet. On présenta 'l'Africa Information Society Initiative,' qui a pour objectif d'améliorer l'infrastructure de l'information et d'assurer à chaque Africain l'information nécessaire à l'édification de la capacité économique et l'exercice des droits démocratiques. Les panélistes traitèrent de toute une gamme de questions d'ordre social et technologique, en notant souvent que malgré les difficultés posées par les considérations de coûts, de contenu et de connexion, les exemples de réussite ne manquent pas.

'Voices for Choices': Innovations Participatives dans la Création du Savoir: Cette session mit l'accent sur les innovations dans l'édification du savoir et la participation dans les délibérations sur les politiques publiques, à l'actif de la recherche, et des ONG et des groupes d'action sociale. Les participants soulignèrent: les raisons de la participation et de la non participation des citoyens dans le dialogue politique; les utilisations probantes de la technologie moderne pour la diffusion de l'information sur les questions liées aux droits de l'homme; la nécessité de l'interaction entre les mouvements opérant dans les domaines des droits de l'homme et de l'environnement; les expériences de la formation en matière d'information en Hongrie et au Pérou; les projets destinés aux femmes lancés par l'Institut Nord-Sud en Afrique; et l'information spécifique au genre. Les participants devaient, par ailleurs, débattre de la parité homme/femme, de l'équité et de l'ajustement structurels en Afrique.

Outils et Technologies de Prévention des Crises et des Secours dans les Catastrophes: Les panélistes soulignèrent que les agences humanitaires sont de plus en plus jugées en fonction de leur aptitude à fournir et à utiliser l'information, même si certaines ont un retard dans ce domaine. On affirma que les agences avaient besoin de rendre leurs opérations en matière d'information plus systématiques et plus professionnelles tout en oeuvrant à l'amélioration des capacités des organisations locales.

L'Edification d'Economies basées sur le Savoir en Asie: Les Leçons de l'Expérience et les Challenges Futurs: Les discussions se focalisèrent sur: les enseignements tirés de l'expérience Asiatique; l'établissement de liens entre l'industrie, l'information et la société; et l'investissement dans l'éducation. Quelques participants mirent l'accent sur la nécessité de mettre le savoir à disposition à un prix abordable. D'autres mirent en garde que le fossé en matière de savoir et de revenu risquait de s'approfondir si ces changements n'étaient pas menés de manière appropriée. Plusieurs nouvelles opportunités furent présentées telles que l'utilisation des télécommunications dans les situations de catastrophes et d'urgence. On souligna, par ailleurs, que le rôle des divers acteurs a besoin d'être plus clairement défini.

Vigilance du FMI dans un Monde de Marchés de Capitaux de plus en plus Intégrés: Cette session se focalisa sur la nécessité de fournir des données exactes et actuelles sur les marchés des capitaux nationaux et internationaux, pour améliorer la stabilité et l'efficacité du système économique mondial. Le FMI fournit un certain nombre de services pour la réalisation de cet objectif, incluant son nouveau site Web qui présente les données les plus actuelles sur la croissance économique, la dette, l'inflation et autres indicateurs économiques (http://dsbb.imf.org).

Savoir, Science et Engineering au Service du Développement Durable: Les présentations portèrent sur: le rôle de la recherche académique dans la croissance économique et industrielle; les questions liées à l'environnement mondial; la santé; et l'agriculture. Les participants devaient souligner l'importance des partenariats et suggéraient que pour faire face aux challenges du prochain siècle, la science et la technologie seront d'importance capitale pour la solution des problèmes. On nota aussi que la science et la technologie doivent s'accompagner par des politiques et des institutions appropriées pour la réalisation du développement durable.

L'Environnement: Le Challenge du Développement Durable: Les participants discutèrent des rapports entre le savoir, l'économie et l'environnement. Certains décrivirent les aspects positifs du lien entre l'environnement physique et le développement humain. D'autres suggérèrent que le développement durable est en soi une contradiction irréalisable. D'autres encore mirent l'accent sur l'importance de: l'application appropriée du savoir pour le développement durable; de la mise en oeuvre de la technologie à l'échelon local; et de la perception de la science et de la technologie dans un cadre politique et social.

L'intégration de l'Environnement dans les Programmes de Développement: Politique et Stratégies en Matière d'Education, de Formation et de Communication: Cette session se focalisa sur l'importance de l'intégration de composants d'éducation, de formation et de communication dans les programmes environnementaux. Des études de cas des Philippines, de la Thaïlande et du Sri Lanka furent présentées. Les recommandations portèrent sur: l'importance de l'apprentissage mutuel, et la technologie en tant que moyen efficace pour atteindre le niveau local.

Colloque sur l'Education à Distance pour le Développements des Enseignants: Dans ce colloque en deux volets, les participants procédèrent à un échange d'expériences quant aux défis posés au développement des enseignants et la manière dont les solutions de l'éducation à distance pourraient être appliquées. On présenta aussi des exemples d'approches novatrices adoptées au Sénégal et en Inde. Une discussion de groupe par voie électronique pour la préparation du colloque permit d'identifier les difficultés englobant celle liée à la sensibilisation des décideurs quant aux avantages de l'éducation à distance et l'établissement d'un lien entre l'éducation à distance, le développement social et les préoccupations communautaires. Parmi les questions soulevées, il y eut celles de savoir: quelles opportunités la nouvelle technologie peut apporter à l'éducation à distance; comment gérer à grande échelle une éducation à distance adaptée aux différents systèmes locaux; et les problèmes liés aux programmes d'éducation. Les panélistes présentèrent des études de cas de formation à distance d'enseignants en Israël, au Mexique et au Royaume Uni. Les participants: s'interrogèrent sur les mesures de repli en cas d'échec de la technologie; discutèrent des avantages de l'utilisation des conférences vidéos, des radios, des tuteurs et des imprimés dans la formation des enseignants; et évoquèrent les préoccupations liées aux coûts des nouvelles technologies dans l'éducation à distance. On souleva aussi des questions concernant: l'évaluation qualitative et les critères de mesure qui s'y rapportent, l'équité, et les possibilités de l'éducation à distance.

Classes Sans Frontières: l'Internet et l'Education: Les participants discutèrent de l'amélioration des résultats éducationnels et de l'entente globale à travers les activités d'apprentissage à distance basées sur l'Internet. Quatre programmes furent présentés, y compris celui de la Banque Mondiale "World Links for Development," qui relie des élèves et des enseignants de pays en développement à des homologues dans les pays industrialisés, pour une collaboration dans les domaines de la recherche; de l'enseignement et de l'apprentissage à travers l'Internet. Les discussions mirent en exergue l'importace: du contenu par rapport à la technologie; l'auto-apprentissage, et l'apprentissage interactif axé sur l'élève; des partenariats pour faciliter l'accès à l'Internet; de la formation des enseignants pour l'intégration de l'Internet dans les classes: et de l'élaboration des outils permettant d'apprécier la valeur ajoutée de l'utilisation de l'Internet sur la qualité de l'éducation.

"Spinning the Web: Linking the Voices of the South to a Global Sustainable Development Gateway": L'Institut International du Développement Durable (IIDD) a rassemblé ses partenaires régionaux et internationaux pour la présentation de leurs travaux liés à la mise en place d'un nouvel accès à l'information liée au développement durable sur l'Internet. On traita des défis posés aux organismes des pays en développement dans la transmission électronique de leurs informations, ainsi que des solutions apportées aux questions d'accès aux télécommunications, à la fiabilité et à la maîtrise des coûts. Les discussions portèrent aussi sur la production de CD-ROM, de la qualité des réseaux électroniques et de la production des disquettes. L'IIDD explora la manière dont les diverses recherches et expériences sont portées à l'attention internationale via http://sdgateway.iisd.ca/.

A SUIVRE AUJOURD'HUI

PETIT DEJEUNER: Un petit déjeuner sur le thème du Savoir Mondial: Un Partenariat pour les Femmes et les Hommes aura lieu de 7h45 à 8h55 dans la Grand Ballroom du Centre Sheraton.

SESSIONS DE TRAVAIL: Les sessions de travail se réuniront de 9h00 à 10h30, de 11h00 à 12h30, de 14h30 à 16h00 et de 16h30 à 18h00 au Centre Sheraton, et aux Hôtels Hilton et Colony.

PLENIERE: Un déjeuner Plénier sur le thème 'Le Savoir et la Bonne Gouvernance,' aura lieu de 12h30 à 14h00 et un dîner Plénier sur le thème 'Savoir Mondial et Culture Locale' aura lieu de 19h00 à 22h00, tous deux dans la Grand Ballroom du Centre Sheraton.

Developpements Durables est une publication de l'Institut International du Developpement Durable (IIDD) <info@iisd.ca>, responsable du Bulletin des Negociations de la Terre (c). Ce numero a ete redige et edite par Jonathan Krueger <J.P.Krueger@lse.ac.uk>, Kira Schmidt <kiras@iisd.org>, Silke Speier <SilkSpeier@aol.com> et Greg Terrill <greg.terrill@nuffield.oxford.ac.uk>. Genie technique de Rod Araneda <raraneda@iisd.ca>. Directeur de la publication, Langston James "Kimo" Goree VI <kimo@iisd.org>. Notre couverture de cette reunion est financee par la Banque Mondiale. Les auteurs peuvent etre contactes a leurs adresses electroniques et par tel. au: +1-212-644-0204 ou fax: +1-212-644-0206. L'IIDD peut etre contacte au 161 Portage Avenue East, 6th Floor, Winnipeg, Manitoba R3B 0Y4, Canada; tel.: +1-204-958-7700; fax: +1-204-958-7710. Les opinions exprimees dans Developpements Durables appartiennent a leurs auteurs et ne refletent pas necessairement les vues de l'IIDD et de nos autres bailleurs de fonds. Des extraits de Developpements Durables peuvent etre utilises dans d'autres publications moyennant une citation appropriee. Les versions electroniques de Developpements Durables sont transmises aux listes de distribution e-mail(format ASCII et PDF) et sont accessibles sur le serveur WWW Linkages au <http://www.iisd.ca/linkages/>. Pour plus d'informations sur Developpements Durables, y compris pour vos demandes de services de couverture, contactez le Directeur de la Publication a: <kimo@iisd.org>.

return to main
PDF format
ASCII format
Sustainable Developments @ Global Knowledge 97

Global Knowledge 97
Volume 7, Number 3
June 24, 1997

A Daily Report of the Global Knowledge 97 Conference

 

HIGHLIGHTS FROM GLOBAL KNOWLEDGE 97
23 JUNE 1997

GK97 delegates convened in two Plenary sessions in the morning, on the Global Knowledge Agenda and on Investing in Knowledge, and in a dinner Plenary on Investing in Knowledge Infrastructure. Delegates met in a variety of working sessions during the afternoon.

PLENARY SESSIONS

THE GLOBAL KNOWLEDGE AGENDA

Diane Marleau, Canadian Minister for International Cooperation and Minister responsible for La Francophonie, emphasized the importance of equitable access for all and productive partnerships. She stressed that information must be practical and adaptable to local needs. Equitable access is founded upon literacy, numeracy and problem-solving. She highlighted the importance of education for girls, particularly in Africa, and emphasized that partnerships can facilitate equitable access. She said governments should guarantee that all citizens have access to information and foster an enabling environment for private sector investment in ICT.

James D. Wolfensohn, President of the World Bank, stressed the need to overcome the gap between rich and poor. The major challenge is to increase people's ability to access new technology, and success must be measured by impacts on poverty and development. He remarked that governments and institutions should be guided by the wishes of their citizens. He recalled Annan's observation that ignorance, not knowledge, constrains society, and he urged participants to strive for a better world.

José María Figueres, President of Costa Rica, stressed that the purpose of this conference is to discuss knowledge in the information age in the context of furthering the well-being of people. He outlined Costa Rica's experience and investments in health, infrastructure development, education, communications and institution-building. He stressed that of all these areas, education is the most important. He outlined many indicators of improvement, including: increased life expectancy; improved environmental indicators; and greater economic liberty. He suggested that sustainable development is a way of taking decisions that encompass all areas of action in society. He called for more work to provide access to ICT in order to ensure equality for all.

Yoweri K. Museveni, President of Uganda, stated that in the past, man has been oppressed by nature and by fellow men. He said science and technology enabled humanity to overcome the former, and only the universalization of knowledge will create an equilibrium where none will use knowledge to the detriment of others. He outlined the obstacles to access to knowledge in Uganda: illiteracy; archaic curricula; difficulties in the transmission of knowledge to farmers; and dormancy of ancient knowledge. He highlighted efforts to address these obstacles: reducing the cost of education and expanding secondary and university education; reforming curricula and allowing the demands of the labor market to shape curricula; expanding the network of extension workers; and working to bring products of ancient knowledge to the marketplace. He stressed that as knowledge spreads across the globe and becomes more democratically owned, an adjustment in the world system will be essential, and all will have to find a niche where they can contribute to this knowledge.

INVESTING IN KNOWLEDGE

Maurice Strong, Special Advisor to the UN Secretary-General, chaired the Plenary. He stressed that although GK97 is focusing on knowledge, civilizational changes driven by the knowledge revolution are also at issue.

Joy Male, Administrator, Mengo Senior School, Kampala, Uganda, spoke of the pioneering school-to-school initiative (SSI) underway in Uganda. The SSI, a one-year pilot project started in 1996, has made computers, printers and, for the first time in Uganda, access to the Internet available to three schools. The SSI is very popular in the schools and local communities and is being used to network, share best practices and increase skills. She outlined challenges for the future: to ensure the program continues beyond the pilot project, and to carry the program forward into other schools.

Joseph E. Stiglitz, Senior Vice President and Chief Economist of the World Bank, emphasized that knowledge is the driving force behind economic development. He listed prerequisites of the telecommunication revolution, including: continued investment in human capital; an enabling environment for investments in new technologies; policies that ensure that the benefits of economic growth are shared widely; creation of knowledge infrastructure; and democratic development. He stressed the importance of: effective competition leading to low prices and allowing the poor to participate; a regulatory structure to protect consumers; and political and regulatory stability.

John Manley, Canadian Minister of Industry, observed that advances in information technology are transforming industrial economies into knowledge-based economies. He emphasized that this state of "connectedness" provides new opportunities and has the potential to level the playing field between developed and developing nations. Developing countries can "leapfrog" old technologies and avoid regulatory and policy pitfalls. He stressed, however, that we must not lose sight of basic human values. He outlined several programs that Canada will initiate at home and abroad to improve access to IT tools and skills.

Fawzi Al-Sultan, President of the International Fund for Agricultural Development (IFAD), stated that for knowledge to become a force for poverty alleviation, the poor require access to experiences of comparable communities, and their knowledge must be sharpened by access to outside knowledge in ways that enable them to select those elements most relevant to their needs. He said information is the cornerstone of sustainable development, and modern technologies must be made available to the poor. He outlined efforts by IFAD in this regard. He stressed that investment in knowledge represents a commitment to people and a better future for all.

Delegates also attended a Plenary dinner, sponsored by the GK97 private sector partners, where statements were delivered by: Michael Dell, Founder and Chairman, Dell Computer Corporation, Claude Forget, Special Advisor to Chairman of the Board and CEO, Teleglobe, Inc., and Jean Monty, Vice-Chairman and CEO, Nortel. (Editor's Note: these speeches are available in RealAudio at http://www.iisd.ca/linkages/sd/gk97/webcast.html.)

WORKING SESSIONS

A variety of working sessions were held in the afternoon. Following are summaries from some of these sessions.

Partnership for Knowledge Sharing and Connectivity: Special Challenges in Africa: In this two-part session, it was noted that Africa was the last continent to be connected to the Internet. The Africa Information Society Initiative, which aims to enhance information infrastructure and ensure that every African has the information necessary to build economic capacity and exercise democratic rights, was described. Panelists addressed a range of social and technological issues, often noting that despite difficulties with costs, content and connectivity, there are numerous local success stories.

Voices for Choices: Participatory Innovations in Knowledge Creation: This session highlighted innovations in knowledge-building and participation in public policy deliberations by research, non-governmental and social action groups. Participants emphasized: why citizens do and do not participate in policy dialogue; successful uses of modern technology to spread information on human rights issues; the need for interaction between human rights and environmental movements; experiences of information training in Hungary and Peru; the North-South Institute's women's projects in Africa; and "gendered" information. Participants debated gender, equity and structural adjustment in Africa.

Tools and Technologies for Crisis Prevention and Disaster Relief: Panelists emphasized that humanitarian agencies are increasingly judged by their capacity to provide and use information, although some are falling behind in this respect. It was highlighted that agencies need to systematize and professionalize their information operations while simultaneously increasing the capacity of local organizations.

Building Knowledge Economies in Asia: Lessons from Experience and Challenges Ahead: Discussions focused on: drawing lessons from the Asian experience; forging links between industry, information and society; and investing in education. Some participants underscored making knowledge and ICT available and affordable, while others cautioned that income and knowledge gaps could increase if these changes are not made properly. Many new opportunities were presented, such as the use of telecommunications for disaster and emergency relief. It was also highlighted that the roles of the various players need to be more clearly defined.

IMF Surveillance in a World of Increasingly Integrated Capital Markets: This session focused on the need to provide timely and accurate data about domestic and international capital markets in order to enhance the stability and effectiveness of the global economic system. The IMF provides a number of services to achieve this, including its new website which offers current data on economic growth, government debt, national inflation and other key financial indicators (http://dsbb.imf.org).

Knowledge, Science and Engineering for Sustainable Development: Presentations were made on: the role of academic research in industrial and economic growth; global environmental issues; health; and agriculture. Participants stressed the importance of partnerships and suggested that science and technology, while facing challenges in the next century, will be key in addressing these issues. It was also noted that science and technology must be combined with appropriate policies and institutions to achieve sustainable development.

Environment: The Challenge of Sustainable Development: Participants discussed the relationship between knowledge, the economy and the environment. Some participants outlined the positive aspects of the relationship between the physical environment and human development, while others suggested that sustainable development is an unachievable oxymoron. Others stressed the importance of: the appropriate application of knowledge for sustainable development; local-level implementation of technology; and viewing science and technology within a social and political context.

Mainstreaming Environment into Development Programs: Policies and Strategies for Education, Training and Communication: This session focused on the importance of integrating education, training and communication components into environment programs. Case studies from the Philippines, Thailand and Sri Lanka were presented. Recommendations were made on: the importance of mutual learning, and technology as an effective means of reaching the local level.

Colloquium on Distance Education for Teacher Development: In this two-part colloquium, participants shared experiences on the challenges facing teacher development and how distance education solutions can be applied to address them. Examples of innovative approaches in Senegal and India were presented. An e-mail discussion group preparing for the colloquium identified difficulties, including educating policy makers on the benefits of distance education and linking distance education to social development and community concerns. Themes and questions included: how technology provides opportunities for distance education; how to manage distance education on a large scale while adapting it to different local systems; and curriculum issues. Panelists presented case studies of distance teacher education in Israel, Mexico and the UK. Participants: asked about fallback plans when technology fails; discussed the benefits of using video-conferencing, radio, tutors and print to train teachers; and raised concerns regarding costs of new technologies for distance education. Participants raised questions regarding: quality assessment and the criteria by which to measure it; equity; and the outreach potential of distance education.

Classrooms Without Borders: Internet and Education: Participants discussed how to improve educational outcomes and global understanding through Internet-based distance learning activities. Four programs were presented, including the World Bank's "World Links for Development," which links students and teachers in developing countries with peers in industrialized countries for collaborative research, teaching and learning via the Internet. Discussions highlighted the importance of: content over technology; self-learning and student-centered, interactive learning; partnerships to facilitate Internet access; training teachers to integrate Internet into the classroom; and developing tools to assess the value of Internet use on the quality of education.

Spinning the Web: Linking the Voices of the South to a Global Sustainable Development Gateway: The International Institute for Sustainable Development (IISD) brought together its regional and international partners to present their work on building a new gateway to sustainable development information on the Internet. Challenges facing organizations in developing countries in delivering their information electronically, as well as solutions to issues of telecommunications access, reliability and costs, were addressed. Discussion centered on CD-Rom production, low-end e-mail networks and diskette products. IISD explored how the diverse research and experience of these organizations are being brought to international attention at http://sdgateway.iisd.ca/.

THINGS TO LOOK FOR TODAY

BREAKFAST: A breakfast, on Global Knowledge: A Partnership for Women and Men, will take place from 7:45-8:55 a.m. in the Sheraton Centre Grand Ballroom.

WORKING SESSIONS: Working sessions will meet from 9:00-10:30 a.m., 11:00 a.m.-12:30 p.m., 2:30-4:00 p.m. and 4:30-6:00 p.m. in the Sheraton Centre, Hilton and Colony Hotels.

PLENARIES: There will be a Plenary lunch, on Knowledge for Good Governance, from 12:30-2:00 p.m. and a Plenary dinner, on Global Knowledge and Local Culture, from 7:00-10:00 p.m., both in the Sheraton Centre Grand Ballroom.

Sustainable Developments is a publication of the International Institute for Sustainable Development (IISD) <info@iisd.ca>, publishers of the Earth Negotiations Bulletin (c). This issue is written and edited by Jonathan Krueger <J.P.Krueger@lse.ac.uk>, Kira Schmidt <kiras@iisd.org>, Silke Speier <SilkSpeier@aol.com> and Greg Terrill <greg.terrill@nuffield.oxford.ac.uk>. Digital Wizardry by Rod Araneda <raraneda@iisd.ca>. The Managing Editor of Sustainable Developments is Langston James "Kimo" Goree VI <kimo@iisd.org>. Funding for coverage of this meeting has been provided by The World Bank. The authors can be contacted at their electronic mail addresses and at tel: +1-212-644-0204 and by fax: +1-212-644-0206. IISD can be contacted at 161 Portage Avenue East, 6th Floor, Winnipeg, Manitoba R3B 0Y4, Canada; tel: +1-204-958-7700; fax: +1-204-958-7710. The opinions expressed in the Sustainable Developments are those of the authors and do not necessarily reflect the views of IISD and other funders. Excerpts from Sustainable Developments may be used in other publications with appropriate academic citation. Electronic versions of Sustainable Developments are sent to e-mail distribution lists (ASCII and PDF format) and can be found on the Linkages WWW-server at <http://www.iisd.ca/linkages/>. For further information on Sustainable Developments, including requests to provide reporting services, contact the Managing Editor at <kimo@iisd.org>.