sdmast.jpg (21763 bytes)
Linkages Home ball.gif (204 bytes) Sustainable Developments
North American Symposium on Understanding the Linkages between Trade and Environment
11-12 October, Washington DC
 

Highlights from Wednesday, 11 October

On the first day of the North American Symposium on Understanding the Linkages between Trade and Environment, participants heard opening remarks from Janine Ferretti, Executive Director, CEC, Pierre Marc Johnson, Symposium Chair, and William Nitze, Assistant Administrator, US Environmental Protection Agency. Lester Brown, President, World Watch Institute. Participants then attended panel discussions on: Trade Liberalization and Natural Resources; NAFTA and Pollution Impacts; Relationships between Trade Liberalization and Environmental Policies and Regulations, as well as an Information Session on Government Reviews of Trade.

Photo: Pierre Marc Johnson, Symposium Chair, and Keynote Speaker, Lester Brown, President, World Watch Institute


Opening Session
Janine Ferretti, Executive Director, Commission for Environmental Cooperation (jferrett@ccemtl.org)
Pierre Marc Johnson, Symposium Chair
William Nitze, Assistant Administrator, US Environmental Protection Agency (hicks.carolyn@epamail.eva.gov)
Lester Brown refers to Vanishing Borders by Hilary French of the the World Watch Institute

Session 1: Trade Liberalization and Natural Resources
David Schorr, Director, Sustainable Commerce Program, World Wildlife Fund (WWF-US) (david.schorr@wwfus.org)

Grace Chomo (vchomo@usitc.gov) and Michael Ferrantino (mferrantino@usitc.gov), US International Trade Commission

Michael Ferrantino presented the paper on NAFTA Environmental Impacts on North American Fisheries

Assessing the Environmental Effects of NAFTA on the Foresty Sector in Mexico

Mary Kelly (left), Texas Center for Policy Studies (mk@texascenter.com) and Maria Teresa Guerrero (right), Comisión de Solidaridad y Defensa a los Derechos Humanas A.C. (cosyddhac@infosel.net.mx)

Assessing NAFTA Effects on Water

Christine Elwell, Sierra Club of Canada (scenergy@web.net)

Discussant José Antonio Morán, Programa sobre comercio y medio ambiente, Centro Mexicano de Derecho Ambiental A.C.

In the ensuing discussion, participants raised the following issues:

Session 2: NAFTA and Pollution Impacts

Session Chair John Dixon, Program Team Leader-Environmental Division, World Bank (jdixon@worldbank.org)

Note: Fernando Gutierrez Moreno, was not present to present his paper on The Impact of the Free Trade Agreement on the Mexican Economy

NAFTA and Industrial Pollution: Some General Equilibrium Results

Kenneth Reinert, George Mason University (kreinert@gmu.edu)


The Generation and Management of Transboundary Hazardous Waste Shipments between Canada, Mexico and the US

Cyrus Reed (right), Texas Center for Policy Studies (cyrus_reed@mail.utexas.edu), Marisa Jacott (bottom left), La Neta-Proyeta Emisiones Espacio Virtual (info@laneta.apc.org), and Mark Winfield (bottom right), Canadian Institute for Environmental Law and Policy (cielap@web.net, winfield@web.net)

Marisa Jacott, La Neta-Proyeta Emisiones Espacio Virtual (info@laneta.apc.org)

Mark Winfield, Canadian Institute for Environmental Law and Policy (cielap@web.net, winfield@web.net)


Discussant Will Martin, Lead Economist, Development Economics Research Group, World Bank (wmartin@worldbank.org)

Discussant Kevin Gallagher, Research Associate, Global Development and Environment Institute, Cabot Center, Tufts University (kgallagh@emerald.tufts.edu)


Session 3: Relationships between Trade Liberalization and Environmental Policies and Regulations
Session Chair Hon. Charles Caccia, House of Commons Standing Committee on Environment and Sustainable Development (caccic0@parl.gc.ca)

Analysis of Links between NAFTA and Environmental Law

Howard Mann, International Institute for Sustainable Development (hmann@netcom.ca)

Is there a Race to the Bottom in Environmental Policies? The Effects of NAFTA

Daniel Millimet, Southern Methodist University (millimet@mail.smu.edu)

The Relocation of El Paso's Garment Stonewashing Industry and its Implications for Trade and Environment

Andrea Abel, NAFTA Program Specialist, National Wildlife Federation (abel@nwf.org) presented the paper, which was cowritten with Travis Phillips, University of Texas at Austin

Discussant Kal Raustiala (left), Acting Professor, School of Law (raustiala@law.ucla.edu)

Discussant David Barkin (right), Professor de Economia, Universidad Autonoma Metropolitana/Unidad Xochimilco (barkin@cueyatl.uam.mx)

Chair Charles Caccia commented on the papers after the presentations (caccic0@parl.gc.ca) (Chair Caccia during an interview)

 

 


Information Session on Government Reviews of Trade

Chair Paul Faeth, Director, Economics Program, World Resources Institute (paul@wri.org)

 

 

Richard Ballhorn (right), Director General, Department of Foreign Affairs and International Trade (richard.ballhorn@dfait-maeci.gc.ca) with José Luis Samaniego (left), SEMARNAP (jsamaniego@semarnap.gob.mx)
Jos� Luis Samaniego, SEMARNAP (jsamaniego@semarnap.gob.mx),

Jennifer SA. Haverkamp, Assistant US Trade Representative, Office of the US Trade Representatives (jhaverkamp@ustr.gov)

 

 

Related Links

bullet Symposium homepage bullet The CEC�s Analytic Framework for Assessing the Environmental Effects of NAFTA
bullet North American Commission for Environmental Cooperation bullet Research papers and Abstracts
bullet Draft Agenda bullet Report of Informal Workshop of Experts and Government Officials on Environment and Trade, 13 December 1999

bullet Linkages homepage

bullet SD coverage of WTO high-level symposia, 15-18 March 1999

bullet SD coverage of WTO Symposium of NGOs on Strengthening Complementarities between Trade, Environment and Sustainable Development 17-18 March 1998

 

�2000, IISD. All rights reserved.

Back to top