Sustainable developments

IISD's SUMMARY REPORT is available online in the following formats:

Development and Adaptation Days at COP10

11-12 December 2004, Buenos Aires, Argentina


 
Daily web coverage:
Sunday, 12 Dec


The “Development and Adaptation Days at COP-10” event is taking place at the Castelar Hotel in Buenos Aires, Argentina from 11-12 December 2004. The event is being organized by the International Institute for Environment and Development (IIED) in collaboration with the Regional and International Networking Group (RING), a global alliance of research and policy organizations. Taking place alongside the tenth Conference of the Parties (COP-10) to the UN Framework Convention on Climate Change (UNFCCC), the Development and Adaptation Days event was convened to raise the profile of adaptation and its linkages with development concerns, with a particular focus on the effects of climate change on the world’s poor – the group that will be most affected by the impacts of climate change. Recognizing that issues of poverty, development and climate change are connected, the event featured more than 40 speakers on these issues, as well as extended discussions and question-and-answer sessions. Approximately 100 people attended the two-day meeting, including representatives of governments, international and intergovernmental organizations, academia, business, and non-governmental organizations.

On the first day of the meeting, designated as "Development Day," sessions were held on climate change and development, food security and disaster planning, and water and health. The second day, which will focus on adaptation, will include discussions on the science of adaptation, funding adaptation, and "adaptation in action." Both days will include high-level discussions. The event, which is the third of its kind to be held so far, is expected to attract negotiators, academics, journalists, and representatives of the UN, intergovernmental organizations and civil society.

Saturday, 11 December
 
 
Saleemul Huq, IIED (left) and the panel on Climate Change and Development


Panel: Climate Change and Development
 

   
Chair Andrew Simms, New Economics Foundation, NEF (left) (andrew.simms@neweconomics.org)

Farhana Yamin, Institute of Development Studies, UK (f.yamin@ids.ac.uk) (center)  introduced the IDS’ new Linking Climate Adaptation Network, which provides an e-mail based discussion group (subscribe@community.eldis.org) that gives access to online resources and information, including the latest methodologies and tool kits being used to assess vulnerability and adaptation scenarios

Jonathan Pershing, World Resources Institute, US, (jpershing@wri.org) introduced a new data base (http://cait.wri.org) that provides the first consolidated source of information on all aspects of development, climate change, vulnerability and adaptive capacity, including emissions, social indicators, national circumstances, economic sectors, numbers of people living in vulnerable areas, health, water, literacy, and mortality. The intention of the database is to develop an understanding of the linkage between national profiles and climate problems and solutions.

   
   
Lorena Gamboa, Both Ends/FURARA, Ecuador (lore_gamboa@yahoo.es) (left) and Emilio La Rovere, Centro Clima, Brazil (right) (emilio@ppe.ufrj.br)
 

   
Emilio La Rovere (left) Cowan Coverntry, Intermediate Technology Development Group (ITDG), UK (cowan.coventry@itdg.org.uk), and Jan Verhangen, Wageningen UR, the Netherlands (a.verhagen@wur.nl)
 

   

Panel: Food Security and Disaster Planning
 
 
Chair Madeleen Helmer, Red Cross (mhelmer@redcross.nl) (left)
 

 
Louis Verchot, Consultative Group on International Agricultural Research (CGIAR) (l.verchot@cgiar.org), Sarder Shariqul Alam, Bangladesh Centre for Advanced Studies (sarder.shafiqul@bcas.net), and Jessica Troni, Department for International Development (DFID), UK (j-troni@dfid.gov.uk)

   

   

Jessica Troni, DFID, UK, and Chair Madeleen Helmer, Red Cross (left) and Sarah La Trobe, Tearfund (sarah.latrobe@tearfund.org) with Mozaharul Alam, Bangladesh (mozaharul.alam@bcas.net)

   

High level panel
 

 
Chair John Drexage, International Institute for Sustainable Development (IISD) (jdrexhage@iisd.ca), Imran Habib Ahmad, Expert Group on Technology Transfer (EGTT) member (imran@alumni.brandeis.edu), Joaquín Nieto Sainz, Sustainlabour Foundation, Spain (jnieto@ccoo.es), and Janos Pazstor, UNFCCC Secretariat (jpasztor@unfccc.int), Antonio Hill, OXFAM (ahill@oxfam.org.uk), and Richard Hosier, GEF (rhosier@thegef.org)

 


Chair John Drexhage, IISD, Richard Hosier, GEF, and Janos Pazstor, UNFCCC Secretariat
   
 

 
Imran Habib Ahmad, EGTT, and Joaquín Nieto Sainz
   


Miscellaneous Photos
 

   
   

   
   

 

 

   

 

 

 
LINKS

! Please e-mail the Digital editor should you have any questions regarding the content of this page.

| Back to Linkages home | Visit IISDnet | Send e-mail to ENB |
� 2004,� IISD. All� rights reserved.