Sustainable developments

IISD's SUMMARY REPORT is available online in the following formats:

Development and Adaptation Days at COP10

11-12 December 2004, Buenos Aires, Argentina


 
Daily web coverage:
Saturday 11 Dec


The “Development and Adaptation Days at COP-10” event took place at the Castelar Hotel in Buenos Aires, Argentina from 11-12 December 2004. The event was organized by the International Institute for Environment and Development (IIED) in collaboration with the Regional and International Networking Group (RING), a global alliance of research and policy organizations. Taking place alongside the tenth Conference of the Parties (COP-10) to the UN Framework Convention on Climate Change (UNFCCC), the Development and Adaptation Days event was convened to raise the profile of adaptation and its linkages with development concerns, with a particular focus on the effects of climate change on the world’s poor – the group that will be most affected by the impacts of climate change. Recognizing that issues of poverty, development and climate change are connected, the event featured more than 40 speakers on these issues, as well as extended discussions and question-and-answer sessions. Approximately 100 people attended the two-day meeting, including representatives of governments, international and intergovernmental organizations, academia, business, and non-governmental organizations.

On the first day of the meeting, designated as "Development Day," sessions were held on climate change and development, food security and disaster planning, and water and health. The second day, which focused on adaptation, will include discussions on the science of adaptation, funding adaptation, and "adaptation in action." Both days will include high-level discussions. The event, which is the third of its kind to be held so far, attracted negotiators, academics, journalists, and representatives of the UN, intergovernmental organizations and civil society.

Sunday, 12 December
 
Panel: The Science of Adaptation
 

 

Chair Osvaldo Canziani, Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change (IPCC) ocanz@ciudad.com.ar) (left) and Dieter Schoene, Food and Agriculture Organization (right) (dieter.schoene@fao.org)
 

 

Richard Klein, PIK (richard.klein@pik-potsdam.de) and Emma Tompkins (e.tompkins@uea.ac.uk) and Emily Boyd (e.boyd@uea.ac.uk), Tynall Center for Climate Change Research
 
 
Sally Kane, National Science Foundation (skane@nsf.gov)
 

 

   
Ian Burton, AIACC (ian.burton@ec.gc.ca), and Emma Tompkins and Emily Boyd, Tynall Center for Climate Change Research, UK
   

   
Sivan Kartha, Stockholm Environment Institute, Sweden (skartha@tellus.org)
   

   

   

Panel: Funding Adaptation
 

 

   
Ian Noble, World Bank (inoble@worldbank.org), Boni Biagini, Global Environmental Facility (bbiagini@thegef.org), and Chair Jos Wheatley, Department for International Development (DFID) (j-wheatley@dfid.gov.uk)
 

   
Brian Dawson, UNDP (brian.dawson@undp.org), and Loret Ruppe, US Agency for International Development (lruppe@usaid.gov) (left) and Liza Leclerc, UNEP (liza.leclerc@unep.org) (right)
   


Panel: Adaptation in Action
 
 
 

 

 
Chair Atiq Rahman, Bangladesh Center for Advanced Studies (atiq.rahman@bcas.net), Stanley James, Arctic Athabaskan Council, Canada (ncp.cyfn@yukon.net), and Brett Orlando, IUCN (brett.orlando@iucn.org), and Chair Rahman (right)

   
 

 

Samrat Sengupta, World Wide Fund for Nature (WWF),India (ssengupta@wwfindia.net) (left) and Ahsan Uddin Ahmed, Centre for Water and Environment, Bangladesh (ahsan@bup-bd.org)

Phil O'Keefe ETC Foundation, Netherlands (nccsap@etcnl.nl), Brett Orlando, IUCN (brett.orlando@iucn.org) Balgis Osman Elasha, Higher Council for Environment and Natural Resources (balgis@yahoo.com)

 
Valentin Bartra Abensur, Alfonso De La Torre law firm, Peru (valentin.bartra@1stcounsel.com) (left)
 

High level panel
   

   
   
Saleemul Huq, IIED (saleemul.huq@iied.org), and Rajendra Pachauri, IPCC Chair (ipcc-sec@wmo.int) (left) and Saleemul Huq with Liana Bratasida, Indonesia (right)
   

   
Halldor Thorgeirsson, UNFCCC (hthorgeirsson@unfccc.int) (left) and Marc Debois, European Commission (marc.debois@cec.eu.int), Farhana Yamin, IDS (f.yamin@ids.ac.uk), and Burnhani Nyenzi, World Meteorological Organzation (WMO) (bnyenzi@wmo.int)(right)
 

 

 

Carlos Corvalan, World Health Organization (corvalanc@who.int)(left)
   

 

 


Miscellaneous Photos
 

   
   

   
   

 

 
LINKS

! Please e-mail the Digital editor should you have any questions regarding the content of this page.

| Back to Linkages home | Visit IISDnet | Send e-mail to ENB |
� 2004,� IISD. All� rights reserved.